SMAT 2022 Finale: Mumbai defeated Himachal Pradesh by 3 wickets

    - Advertisement -

    Mumbai had a poor start as Prithvi Shaw and Ajinkya Rahane departed early in the 144 run-chase. Yashasvi Jaiswal and Shreyas Iyer had their 141-run stand. Iyer and Sarfaraz khan had a partnership of 27 runs post-Jaiswal’s departure.

    Vaibhav Arora turned the tables for Himachal Pradesh after scalping two wickets in the 17th over. In the last over, only six runs were left when Tanush Kotian hit a six and Mumbai Indians bagged their first title.

    Mumbai won Ranji Trophy 41 times but failed to lift the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 13 times, which makes the win even more special.

    - Advertisement -

    Mumbai vs Himachal Pradesh: Match Highlights

    image 10
    Credits- ESPNcricinfo

    The victory didn’t come smoothly to Mumbai. The Vaibhav Arora of Himachal Pradesh dismissed Shreyas Iyer for 34, Shivam Dubey for 7, and Aman Khan for just 6. He restricted Mumbai to 121/7. 23 runs were needed off 12 deliveries and Sarfaraz now had all the load on his shoulders. He scored 21 for 27 which wasn’t enough to win, he bettered his game, and in the final over only six runs were left off six deliveries. Tanush Kotian who had given a good performance with the ball earlier, smashed a six in the last over to seal the victory.

    Himachal Pradesh didn’t have a good start as well since six wickets were already gone for 58 runs. Kotian had three scalps. HP in scored 49 runs in the death overs. Mumbai had given a tight fight and made sure that no stone was unturned that will help them win the game. Mumbai’s successful tournament run was concluded with Sarfaraz’s composure and wickets from Tushar Deshpande, Mohit Awasthi, and Shams Mulani.

    “We wanted to make sure there would not be a repeat of the Ranji final (Mumbai lost to Madhya Pradesh),” Sarfaraz said.

    - Advertisement -

    Read more: Mohammad Nabi resigns from captaincy after Afghanistan lost to Australia

    - Advertisement -

    Get in Touch


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    Latest Posts