WBBL 2022: Here’s the full list of award winners

    - Advertisement -

    The Adelaide Strikers were named the winners of the Women’s Big Bash League (WBBL) 2022 on November 26. The team made it to the finale thrice since 2019 but won the title in 2022. They defeated two-time winners Sydney Sixers to clinch the title.

    The tournament commenced on October 13 and a total of 59 games were played, summit clash included. Hobart Hurricanes, Brisbane Heat, Adelaide Strikers, and Sydney Sixers qualified for the knockout stage.

    The Sydney Sixers were at the top of their game with 23 points winning 11 games out of the 14 that they played. Brisbane Heat defeated Hobart Hurricanes in the ELiminator match to move to the next round. Adelaide Strikers beat them and qualified for the finale.

    - Advertisement -

    The Adelaide strikers had appeared for the first time in WBBL in 2005 after loosing to Brisbane Heat by six wickets. In the seventh season, they were beaten by Perth Scorchers by 12 runs.

    WBBL Season 12 winners and Prizes

    image 49
    Credits- Female Cricket
    • beth Mooney from Perth Scorchers was the highest run-scorer, piling up 434 runs in 13 games and 14 matches at a strike rate of 120.55 and an average of 43.40. She scored three half-centuries and her best score was one run short of a century.
    • Meghan Schutt from Adelaide Striker finished as the highest wicket-taker scalping 27 wickets in 14 innings. She had one five-wicket haul and two four-wicket hauls.
    • Ashleigh gardener from Sydney Sixers became the Player of the tournament. This was her perfect comeback after she had a pathetic season last year. She mustered 339 runs in 13 matches scalping 23 wickets and became the third highest wicket-taker for the tournament.
    • Tess Flintoff from Melbourne Stars was the best young player of this edition as chosen by national selector Shawn Fleeger. She scored 116 runs in seven innings at a strike rate of 165.71. She also scalped four wickets and became the player to score the fastest half-century in the tournament (51 off 16 deliveries).

    Read more: NZ vs IND 1st ODI: Tim Southee takes his 200th wicket, and Washington Sundar scores the fastest 30+ runs as an Indian in New Zealand

    - Advertisement -

    Get in Touch


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    Latest Posts