T20 World Cup 2022 Awards: Sam Curran bags the Player Of The Match and Player Of The Tournament awards

    England won the match against Pakistan in the semifinal. Their all-rounder Sam Curran left Indian batter Virat Kohli behind to bag the player of the tournament award. He was also awarded the player of the match award for the finale where he scalped three wickets. He’s now the second-highest wicket-taker of the tournament with 13 scalps to his name.

    His contribution was very important in the T20 World Cup final for England’s win. Virat Kohli on the other hand scored the highest runs at this event. He mustered a total of 296 runs that helped India to reach the semifinals. Apart from Sam Curran, Australian bowler Marcus Stoinos scored an unbeaten 59 off 18 balls that helped him get the highest strike rate for a batter. Curran recorded the best bowing figure of 5/10 against Afghanistan in Super 12.

    Prize Money

    • Winners: England – $1.6 million(INR ₹12.88 crores)
    • Runners-up: Pakistan – $0.8 million (INR ₹6.44 crore)
    • Semi-finalists: New Zealand, India – $0.4 million (INR ₹3.22 crore)
    • Other teams (Super 12 stage): Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Ireland, Zimbabwe, and the Netherlands – $0.2 million (INR ₹1.61 crores)
    • Player of the Match (final): Sam Curran
    • Player of the Tournament: Sam Curran

    Top Performers of the tournament

    • Most runs: Virat Kohli– 296
    • Most wickets: Wanindu Hasaranga– 15
    • Most 50-plus scores: Virat Kohli– 4
    • Most centuries: Glenn Phillips, Rilee Rossouw– 1
    • Most sixes: Sikandar Raza– 11
    • Most fours: Suryakumar Yadav– 26
    • Most maidens: Bhuvneshwar Kumar– 3

    Most Runs of the tournament

    image 22
    Credits- myKhel
    • Virat Kohli (INDIA) – 296
    • Max O’Dowd (NETHERLANDS) – 242
    • Suryakumar Yadav (INDIA) – 239
    • Jos Buttler (ENGLAND) – 225
    • Kusal Mendis (SRI LANKA) -223

    Most wicket takers of the tournament

    image 23
    Credits- ESPNcricinfo
    • Wanindu Hasaranga (SRI LANKA)- 15
    • Sam Curran (ENGLAND)- 13
    • Bas de Leede (NETHERLANDS)- 13
    • Blessing Muzarabani (ZIMBABWE)- 12
    • Joshua Little ( IRELAND)- 11

    Best Strike Rate in one inning

    image 24
    Credits- Sportskeeda
    • Marcus Stonis (AUSTRALIA) – 327.77
    • Finn Allen (NEW ZEALAND)- 262.50
    • Quinton de Kock (SOUTH AFRICA)- 261.11
    • Mohammad Haris (PAKISTAN)- 254.54
    • Suryakumar Yadav (INDIA)- 244.00

    Best Bowling figure in one inning

    image 25
    Credits- Sky Sports
    • Sam Curran (ENGLAND)- 5/10
    • Anrich Nortje (SOUTH AFRICA)- 4/10
    • Trent Boult (NEW ZEALAND)- 4/13
    • Alzarri Joseph (WEST INDIES)- 4/16
    • Shaheen Shah Afridi (PAKISTAN)- 4/22

    Read more: T20 World Cup 2022: Former cricketer Ajay Jadeja is unhappy with Rohit Sharma’s captaincy

    Get in Touch


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    Latest Posts