BCCI Elections: Is Sourav Ganguly no more the president of BCCI?

    - Advertisement -

    As per reports Sourav Ganguly is set to end his presidential career at BCCI. Reports also suggest that Ganguly won’t be contesting the BCCI elections on October 18. Ganguly is selected to be India’s representative for the International Cricket Council Chairman post. Roger Binny has a high chance of being the next president of BCCI.

    A meeting was set up recently by the top BCCI officials this Thursday and it was decided that Ganguly won’t be contesting the elections.

    image 12
    Credits- CricInformer

    The meeting was attended by Ganguly himself along with BCCI Secretary Jay Shah, Vice President Rajiv Shukla, Treasurer Arun Dhummal & former BCCI President N. Srinivasan.

    - Advertisement -

    Jay Shah will be re-contesting for the Secretary’s post once again.

    October 12 is the deadline and the state associations have started seeing the names of the representatives to the BCCI Annual General Meeting (AGM). Karnataka State Association (KSCA) has sent Roger Binny’s name as the representative for the forthcoming presidential elections.

    25 out of 38 state units have already picked their representatives ahead of BCCI elections by the end of this month. Railways, Services, and Universities have made a request for more time with the electoral officer though the last date to fill the nominations is on October 11 and October 12.

    - Advertisement -

    The scrutiny is on October 13 and the withdrawal date is October 14. The elections will be taking place on October 18, the same day as the BCCI AGM.

    Avishek Dalmiya won’t be a part of the Electoral rolls and Sourav Ganguly will become the Cricket Association of Bengal (CAB) representative to the AGM.

    Adwait Manohar, former BCCI and ICC head Shashank Manohar’s son represents VIdharfba and Baroda has Pranav Amin, the son of former IPL chairman Chirayu Amin.

    - Advertisement -

    Rohan Jaitley the son of Arun Jaitley is nominated from Delhi. Jay Shah is nominated from Gujarat, Arun Singh Dhumal nominated from Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association (HPCA).

    The BCCI elections will be held for five office-bearer roles and elective posts. Representatives will have to compete for positions of president, vice president, secretary, joint secretary, and treasurer.

    Read more: Pakistan Cricket Board announced the inaugural women’s league, along with PSL 2023

    - Advertisement -

    Get in Touch


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    Latest Posts