Indian Super League: New Playoffs Format Announced for Upcoming 2022-23 Season

    - Advertisement -

    The Indian Super League (ISL) released its match schedule for the 2022-23 season on Thursday. The ISL 2022-23 is set to take on season openers Kerala Blasters and East Bengal on 7th October in Kochi. Last season, Kerala Blasters finished runners-up and East Bengal finished with wooden spoons.

    The Modification in Playoff Format of the Indian Super League

    The league’s organizer, Football Sports Development Limited (FSDL), has also announced a change in playoff formats for next season. Traditionally, the top four teams at the end of the league stage qualify for the playoffs, but this season there are significant changes.

    The top two teams at the end of the league stage advance directly to the semi-finals. Amongst them, teams in third place and his sixth place would then face off in a single-leg playoff to determine his two remaining semi-finalists. The team in the third rank will play against his sixth place team, and the fourth place team will play against his fifth place team.

    - Advertisement -

    This change suggests that the teams finishing in fifth and sixth place will also have a chance to enter the playoffs and win the Indian Super League title. Hyderabad FC is the defending champion. They defeated the Kerala Blasters on penalties to attain the crown.

    On the other hand, the league winner was Jamshedpur FC, who advanced through the league stage with a record score last season. They hold the league winner’s shield, the first in the club’s history.

    As previously confirmed by Khel Now, ISL 2022-23 will also introduce specific matchdays. Matches are played Thursday through Sunday only, with a doubleheader on the weekend. This season will also witness the return of the fans into the stadiums.

    - Advertisement -

    This season will also mark the return of the Super Cup after a three-year hiatus. The Super Cup will take place in April following the 2022-23 ISL season.

    New Format of the ISL Playoffs

    • Eliminator 1: 3rd placed team vs 6th placed team
    • Eliminator 2: 4th placed team vs 5th placed team
    • Semi-Final 1 1st Leg: 1st placed team vs (Winner – Eliminator 2)
    • Semi-Final 2 1st Leg: 2nd placed team vs (Winner – Eliminator 1)
    • Semi-Final 1 2nd Leg: (Winner – Eliminator 2) vs 1st placed team
    • Semi-Final 2 2nd Leg: (Winner – Eliminator 1) vs 2nd placed team
    • Final: (Winner Semi-Final 1) vs (Winner Semi-Final 2)

    Read More: Indian Super League 2022-23 Schedule: Matches will be played from Thursday to Sunday

    - Advertisement -

    Get in Touch


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    Latest Posts