FIFA Team of the Year 2023. Who Made It & Who Didn’t? Unveiling the 2023 FIFA FIFPRO Men’s World 11

    - Advertisement -

    The eagerly awaited moment arrived at The Best FIFA Football Awards in London, England, where the world witnessed the unveiling of the FIFA FIFPRO Men’s World 11. A staggering 22,000 professional men’s footballers cast their votes, shaping the prestigious global team of the year.

    Who made the 2023 FIFA FIFPRO Men’s World 11?

    Lionel Messi, the football maestro, etched his name in history with a remarkable 17th successive appearance in the FIFA FIFPRO Men’s World 11. Since 2007, the Argentinian ace has been a consistent choice, voted into every team of the year by his peers. A testament to his enduring brilliance on the field.

    Lionel Messi Image Credits FIFA
    Lionel Messi, Image Credits – FIFA

    In a stellar recognition of Manchester City’s triumphant campaign, six key players from their treble-winning side claimed their spots in the prestigious men’s team of the year. The formidable lineup includes Kyle Walker, John Stones, Ruben Dias, Bernardo Silva, Kevin De Bruyne, and the rising star Erling Haaland.

    - Advertisement -

    Since the inception of the FIFPRO initiative in 2005, professional footballers worldwide have had the exclusive privilege of shaping the World 11. This unique approach ensures that the only global player award of its kind is decided directly by those who understand the nuances and challenges of the game.



    Thibaut Courtois (Real Madrid, Belgium)


    Ruben Dias (Manchester City, Portugal)
    John Stones (Manchester City, England)
    Kyle Walker (Manchester City, England)

    - Advertisement -


    Jude Bellingham (Borussia Dortmund/Real Madrid, England)
    Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City, Belgium)
    Bernardo Silva (Manchester City, Portugal)


    Erling Haaland (Manchester City, Norway)
    Kylian Mbappe (Paris Saint-Germain, France)
    Lionel Messi (Paris Saint-Germain/Inter Miami, Argentina)
    Vinicius Jr (Real Madrid, Brazil)

    2023 FIFA FIFPRO MENS WORLD 11 Image Credits FIFA
    2023 FIFA FIFPRO MEN’S WORLD 11, Image Credits – FIFA


    - Advertisement -

    Behind the Scenes: Unveiling the Methodology of FIFA FIFPRO World 11 Voting

    Ever wondered how the footballing elite earns their place in the prestigious FIFA FIFPRO World 11? Let’s take a peek into the intricate process that unfolds behind the scenes.

    The selection of the 2023 FIFA FIFPRO World 11 was a truly global affair, with professional footballers hailing from 69 countries participating in the voting process. FIFPRO, in collaboration with affiliated player unions, facilitated the voting mechanism through the distribution of unique links granting players access to a digital voting platform.

    The time frame for assessing player performances was set between December 19, 2022, and August 20, 2023. During this period, men’s football players who appeared in at least 23 official matches were eligible to be considered for the coveted World 11.

    Players were tasked with choosing their peers based on standout performances in various positions—goalkeeper, defence, midfield, and forward. The voting process allowed footballers to select three players they deemed most outstanding in each category. The goalkeeper and three players from each position with the highest votes secured their spots in the World 11.

    The 11th spot, however, had a unique twist. It was designated to the outfield player with the next highest number of votes across all positions, adding an element of suspense to the final lineup.

    Crucially, players enjoyed the freedom to pick any of their peers, expanding the scope beyond the confines of a predefined list. While a suggestion list was provided in the voting tool, footballers had the liberty to include additional names, ensuring a diverse and comprehensive representation of excellence in the FIFA FIFPRO World 11.

    New Faces and Familiar Stars: FIFA FIFPRO Women’s World 11

    In a historic moment, two of Spain’s Women’s World Cup champions, Aitana Bonmati and Olga Carmona, clinched their spots in the FIFA FIFPRO Women’s World 11 for the first time. Accompanying them on this esteemed list are seven formidable England internationals: Mary Earps, Alex Greenwood, Lucy Bronze, Ella Toone, Keira Walsh, Alessia Russo, and Lauren James.



    Mary Earps (Manchester United, England)


    Lucy Bronze (Barcelona, England)
    Olga Carmona (Real Madrid, Spain)
    Alex Greenwood (Manchester City, England)


    Aitana Bonmati (Barcelona, Spain)
    Ella Toone (Manchester United, England)
    Keira Walsh (Barcelona, England)


    Lauren James (Chelsea, England)
    Sam Kerr (Chelsea, Australia)
    Alex Morgan (San Diego Wave, USA)
    Alessia Russo (Manchester United/Arsenal, England)

    2023 FIFA FIFPRO WOMENS WORLD 11 Image Credits FIFA
    2023 FIFA FIFPRO WOMEN’S WORLD 11, Image Credits – FIFA
    - Advertisement -

    Get in Touch


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    Latest Posts