Star-studded 25-man shortlist for the Premier League’s Hall of Fame includes John Terry, Paul Scholes, and Sergio Aguero

    - Advertisement -

    The Premier League has announced a 25-man shortlist of former players who are qualified for induction into the Hall of Fame, and fans all over the world can now vote.

    Wayne Rooney of Manchester United and Arsenal’s ‘Invincible’ captain Patrick Vieira of Arsenal were the latest players to be admitted into the Premier League‘s Hall of Fame. Fans may now vote for six additional players to join Rooney and Vieira in the ‘Class of 2022.’

    About the 25-man Shortlist

    The 25-man shortlist includes a slew of former Premier League champions, most notably a group of United players led by Gary Neville and Ruud van Nistelrooy, as well as Sergio Aguero and John Terry.

    - Advertisement -

    Some of the legends of the game who never achieved ultimate victory in the league, such as Southampton star Matt Le Tissier and Liverpool’s ‘God’ Robbie Fowler, have spots on the shortlist.

    With his retirement in December, former Manchester City striker Sergio Aguero was named to the shortlist. After being hospitalized with a heart arrhythmia while playing for Barcelona, the Argentine was forced to end his playing career.

    After 10 trophy-laden years at the Etihad, Aguero became the club’s all-time leading goalscorer with 260 strikes in 390 appearances, and he is fourth all-time in the Premier League goalscoring list with 184 goals.

    - Advertisement -

    Premier League’s Hall of Fame

    Gary Neville and Paul Scholes, both members of Manchester United’s Class of ’92, have been shortlisted. They might join fellow Class of ’92 member David Beckham, who was inducted into the Hall of Fame in 2021.

    The Red Devils topped this year’s shortlist, with Andy Cole, Patrice Evra, Rio Ferdinand, Van Nistelrooy, Michael Owen, Robin van Persie, Edwin van der Sar, Peter Schmeichel, Teddy Sheringham, and Nemanja Vidic all having played for the club at some point throughout their careers.

    The 13-time Premier League champions now have four Hall of Famers, according to Rooney’s recent admission. Terry, who made over 700 appearances for Chelsea, including 492 in the English Premier League, is one of four Chelsea players on the shortlist.

    - Advertisement -

    The former defender won the Premier League five times over his 17 years with the Blues first team, with the final win being his final trophy.

    Read: Premier League clubs have spent £90 million on injuries in the first half of the season

    - Advertisement -

    Get in Touch


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    Latest Posts