Legends League Cricket: Shane Watson and Daniel Vettori replace Herschelle Gibbs and Sanath Jayasuriya in the World Giants team, details here

    Shane Watson, a former Australian all-rounder has replaced Herschelle Gibbs and New Zealand’s skipper Daniel Vettori has substituted Sanath Jayasuriya in the World Giants team for the forthcoming game against India Maharajas in the Legends League Cricket 2022.

    The tournament is set to start on September 17. A special match has been organized on September 16 that features legends from various countries.

    image 31
    Credits- Hindustan

    Sourav Ganguly will be leading the India Maharajas and the World Giants is going to be led by Eoin Morgan, the recently retired English captain. The league is set to be played between four teams consisting of 15 matches. The first edition of the tournament was held in January 2022.

    Legends League Cricket has decided to replace Herschelle Gibbs and Sanath Jayasuriya in the World Giant squad for the special match,” said an official release.

    image 32
    Credits- Newland Global Group

    Ravi Shastri expressed his elation to dedicate the upcoming edition of the tournament to the 75th year of Independence.

    This is a proud moment for us that we are celebrating the 75th year of our independence. As a proud Indian, it gives me immense satisfaction to share that we have decided to dedicate this year’s league to the 75th year of Independence celebration.”- he said

    Indian players Sreesanth Virender Sehwag and Harbhajan Singh have confirmed their presence in the League’s recent season. Let’s have a look at the squads

    Squads for Legends League Cricket

    India Maharajas: Sourav Ganguly (c), Virender Sehwag, Mohammad Kaif, Yusuf Pathan, S Badrinath, Irfan Pathan, Parthiv Patel, Stuart Binny, S Sreesanth, Harbhajan Singh, Naman Ojha, Ashoke Dinda, Pragyan Ojha, Ajay Jadeja, RP Singh, Joginder Sharma

    World Giants: Eoin Morgan (c), Lendl Simmons, Shane Watson, Jacques Kallis, Daniel Vettori, Matt Prior, Nathan McCullum, Jonty Rhodes, Muttiah Muralitharan, Dale Steyn, Hamilton Masakadza, Mashrafe Mortaza, Asghar Afghan, Mitchell Johnson, Brett Lee, Kevin O’Brien, Denesh Ramdin

    In the last edition, World Giants won the first title and Asia Lions were the runners up.

    Read more: T20 Cricket: Kieron Pollard becomes the first player to appear in 600 matches whereas Dwayne Bravo picks his 600th wicket

    Get in Touch


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    Latest Posts