India vs West Indies: India created history by winning the ODI series

    India had a great ODI start under Rohit Sharma’s captaincy as the team won the bilateral series against West Indies with a lead of 2-0. It was team India’s 11th consecutive series victory for India. India and Pakistan no. have an equal number of ODI wins record against a team. Earlier, Pakistan won 11 consecutive ODI series against Zimbabwe.

    West Indies won an ODI series against India for the last time in 2006 in a five-match series at a figure of 1-4. After the retirement of its best players like Brian Laran, Shivnarayan Chandrapaul, Marlon Samuels, Chris Gayle and Darren Sammy the team found it hard to win matches against India.


    Most Consecutive bilateral series victories

    11 – Pakistan vs Zimbabwe (1996-21)
    11 – India vs West Indies (2007-22)
    9 – Pakistan vs West Indies (1999-17)
    9- South Africa vs Zimbabwe (1995-18)
    9 – India vs Sri Lanka (2007-21)

    India vs West Indies ODI records

    • Matches: 135
    • India won: 66
    • West Indies won: 63
    • Tied: 2
    • NR: 4

    INDIA vs WEST INDIES : 2nd ODI Match Highlights

    In the 2nd ODI, the Indian team gave a dominant performance the Indian team India had to bat first. India lost its skipper Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli and Rishabh Pant at an early stage. Suryakumar Yadav and KL Rahul had a 91-run stand for the fourth wicket but KL Rahul missed the half-century on 49 though Suryakumar Yadav gave his career best performance, 64 runs in ODIs. India had a total score of 237 for 9 wickets.


    India gave a spectacular performance in bowling as well. Prasidh Krishna had taken 4 wickets giving only 12 runs in 9 overs and Shardul Thakur had 2 wickets in his pocket. Mohammad Siraj, Yuzvendra Chahal, Deepak Hooda and Washington Sundar took one wicket each and bowled out West Indies for 193 runs.

    “I have never seen a spell like that in India for a long time now. Prasidh bowled with a lot of pace and kept it going. The others complimented him,” said Indian skipper Rohit Sharma after the match.

    Read more: Tickets for India vs Pakistan already sold out for the 2022 ICC T20 World Cup

    Get in Touch


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    Latest Posts