India vs Ireland T20I series: Hardik Pandya to lead the team

IPL-winning skipper Hardik Pandya continues to climb the ladder. He has been named the Indian team’s captain for the upcoming trip to Ireland. The good news is that Suryakumar Yadav has returned from injury, and Sanju Samson has been called up as well. Rahul Tripathi has also been called up for the first time.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar has been selected as the series’ vice-captain. The roster is unchanged from the South Africa series, with the exception of Rishabh Pant and Shreyas Iyer.
Rahul Tripathi has also been called up for the first time, while Mohsin Khan has been left out. In the meantime, VVS Laxman will be in charge of the coaching staff for the Ireland visit.

image 63
Credits- Cricket Addictor

The Indian squad

Hardik Pandya (C), Bhuvneshwar Kumar (VC), Ishan Kishan, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Sanju Samson, Suryakumar Yadav, Venkatesh Iyer, Deepak Hooda, Rahul Tripathi, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, R Bishnoi, Harshal Patel, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Umran Malik.

The Ireland squad

 Andrew Balbirnie (Captain), Mark Adair, Curtis Campher, Gareth Delany, George Dockrell, Stephen Doheny, Josh Little, Andrew McBrine, Barry McCarthy, Conor Olphert, Paul Stirling, Harry Tector, Lorcan Tucker, Craig Young.

Everything you need to know about the series

With Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, and Rishabh Pant all ruled out of the series, Hardik Pandya will head the side. For the first time since 2018, India will play two T20Is against Ireland on June 26 and 28. The squad will depart for Ireland on June 22. Hardik Pandya and a few others will join the group in England when the T20Is in Ireland is completed. On July 1, India’s T20 team will face Derbyshire, followed by Northamptonshire on July 3. In Ireland, VVS Laxman will oversee the coaching staff, and during the warm-up matches in England, he will be in charge of the coaching staff. After the 5th Test, Rahul Dravid will assume leadership of the white-ball squad.

Squad changes

1. Both Umran Malik and Arshdeep Singh will play in the Ireland series.
2. Suryakumar Yadav has recovered from his ailment and has rejoined the team.
3. After an excellent performance in the IPL 2022, Rahul Tripathi has got his first call-up.
4. Sanju Samson made a comeback after being left out of the South Africa series.
5. For the Ireland series, Ishan Kishan and Ruturaj Gaikwad have both been chosen.
6. The vice-captain for the Ireland series will be Bhuvneshwar Kumar.

Read more: BCCI announce an increase in monthly pensions of former cricketers and umpires

Get in Touch


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest Posts