Top 5 Indian players who lifted the IPL trophy without playing a single match

    IPL trophy requires hard work and extensive planning throughout the tournament, and even after that, a lot of luck is needed. Renowned players like Rohit Sharma, MS Dhoni, Ambati Rayudu, Hardik Pandya, and Jasprit Bumrah won multiple titles but still, big names like Virat Kohli and Ab de Villiers couldn’t lift the Cup.

    Top 5 Indian players who lifted the IPL trophy without playing a single match

    1. Gurkeerat Singh Mann (Gujarat Titans)- 2022

    Credits- StarsUnfolded

    Gujarat Titans got the 31-year-old in this year’s auction, but the team didn’t need the services of the all-rounder in IPL 2022 but won the match in their debut season. Gurkeerat Mann would’ve definitely liked to play for the franchise but after seeing the performance of the team for the whole season, he definitely cannot complain.

    2. Vijay Shankar (Sunrisers Hyderabad) – 2016

    Credits- DNA India

    Vijay Shankar got into the tournament in the 2018 IPL season and he scored handy runs coming lower down the order for Delhi. In the next season, he got decent runs for Sunrisers Hyderabad. The all-rounder didn’t make any contribution to the team’s success for the whole season but lifted the trophy in 2016.

    3. Axar Patel (Mumbai Indians) – 2013

    Axar Patel 3
    Credits- Cricket Addictor

    Axar Patel won an IPL title before even bowling a ball in the competition. The left-arm spinner was grabbed by Mumbai Indians in 2013 after an impressive Ranji Trophy season. Though he didn’t make an appearance on the Mumbai Indians’ side, he was part of the squad that lifted the trophy that year.

    4. Sanju Samson (Kolkata Knight Riders) – 2012

    Credits- The Cricket Lounge

    Sanju Samson was a part of the Delhi setup for two seasons due to the ban of Rajasthan from the IPL. Like his other companion Axar Patel, Samson also lifted the IPL trophy without even making an appearance in the game for the side when KKR won the IPL in 2012.

    5. Abhinav Mukund (Chennai Super Kings)- 2011

    download 2
    Credits- Facebook

    Abhinav Mukund played for Chennai Super Kings from 2008-to 2012, and in 2011 and he was part of the CSK team that won the IPL trophy 2011. He didn’t play a single match in the entire 2011 edition but the trophy came to his name at the end of the season.

    Read more: Shakib Al Hasan is the new Test skipper for Bangladesh

    Get in Touch


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    Latest Posts

    Adblocker detected! Please consider reading this notice.

    We've detected that you are using AdBlock Plus or some other adblocking software which is preventing the page from fully loading.

    We don't have any banner, Flash, animation, obnoxious sound, or popup ad. We do not implement these annoying types of ads!

    We need money to operate the site, and almost all of it comes from our online advertising.

    Please add to your ad blocking whitelist or disable your adblocking software.