SPL vs VEL final: Supernovas won Women’s T20 Challenge final

    Velocity chased a target of 166 runs and started the 2nd innings with Shefali Verma and Yastika Bhatia. They had a partnership of 29 runs but sooner Deandra Dottin picked Shefali’s wicket which was a big blow to the team. After some time, Yastika Bhatia and Kiran Navgire got out too.

    In the first innings, Supernovas had a brilliant start with Priya Punia and Deandra Dottin having together a 50-run stand. After the 73-run opening stand, Priya Punia got dismissed. Harmanpreet Kaur took charge and smacked 43 runs in 29 balls.

    In 15 overs, Supernovas were 131/2. But in the death overs, Velocity made a fine comeback. Supernovas lost five wickets for just 34 runs as they could pile u[ 165 runs for 7 wickets.

    For Velocity, Kate Cross (2 for 29), Deepti Sharma (2 for 20), Simran Bahadur (2 for 30) and Ayabonga Khaka (1 for 27) were the wicket-takers.

    This is the third time Supernovas is winning in a total of 4 seasons of Women’s IPL or Women’s T20 Challenge. The Supernovas had won the title in 2018 and 2019 whereas the Trailblazers lifted the Cup in 2020.

    SPL vs VEL final: Supernovas won Women’s T20 Challenge final

    Match Highlights of SPN vs VEL Finals

    Credits- ESPNcricinfo

    Sushma Verma mustered 34 in 33 balls and Suue Luus scored an unbeaten 37 in 21 balls as Velocity piled up 127 in 19.5 overs to pick up a 5-wicket win. Ayabonga Khaka picked up wickets of Velocity openers Shafali Verma and Danielle Wyatt very early. Velocity kept losing wickets at Equal intervals but Verma and Luus took their team ahead. Earlier, Ekta Bisht displayed registered bowling figures of 3/22 as Velocity restricted Supernovas to 126/8 in 20 overs after winning the toss. Athapaththu scored 44 runs in 39 balls, while Harmanpreet Kaur scored 31 runs in 27 balls, but the rest of the squad couldn’t produce a fruitful batting performance. The Supernovas won the match by 4 runs.

    The Women’s T20 challenge 2022 season has been an unpredictable one with the number of sixes, highest totals and highest successful chases.

    The winner of the season, Supernovas will be getting prize cash of Rs. 25 lakhs. The Player of the match, Deandra Dottin will receive a cash prize of Rs.1 lakh.

    Read more: Everything you need to know about Kiran Navgire, who holds the record of the fastest half-century in Women’s T20

    Get in Touch


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    Latest Posts

    Adblocker detected! Please consider reading this notice.

    We've detected that you are using AdBlock Plus or some other adblocking software which is preventing the page from fully loading.

    We don't have any banner, Flash, animation, obnoxious sound, or popup ad. We do not implement these annoying types of ads!

    We need money to operate the site, and almost all of it comes from our online advertising.

    Please add to your ad blocking whitelist or disable your adblocking software.