Aleksandar Mitrovic was awarded Championship Player of the Season after scoring a stunning 41 goals in the 2021-22 season

    Aleksandar Mitrovic was awarded Championship Player of the Season after scoring a stunning 41 goals in the 2021-22 season

    At the EFL Awards on Sunday night, Fulham striker Aleksandar Mitrovic was named the Sky Bet Championship player of the season. The Serbian’s prolific goalscoring has been instrumental in the Cottagers’ promotion to the Premier League at the first time of asking, with his 41st league goal coming against Bournemouth on Saturday.

    His Fulham teammate Harry Wilson, as well as Bournemouth striker Dominic Solanke, had been nominated for the award.

    About the EFL Awards

    Brennan Johnson of Nottingham Forest was named the second tier’s young player of the year after scoring ten goals and providing ten assists to keep the east midlands team in a contest for automatic promotion to the Premier League.

    MK Dons’ Scott Twine was named League One Player of the Year. He won the accolade ahead of Sheffield Wednesday’s Barry Bannan and Rotherham’s Michael Smith due to his goalscoring record from midfield, which has put the Dons in promotion contention. Paddy Lane of Fleetwood was named League One’s young player of the year.

    Full-back in forest green Kane Wilson was named League Two Player of the Year after Gloucestershire United earned a promotion to the third division with a goalless draw against Bristol Rovers on Saturday. Finn Azaz of Newport was named the division’s best young player.

    About the Other Nominees

    Jobi McAnuff’s long and illustrious career in English as a Foreign Language (EFL) was honored when he was chosen to receive the Sir Tom Finney Award. Before retiring at the end of last season, the 40-year-old earned nearly 700 senior appearances in his playing career.

    Burton won the award for the best community project of the year for their work in establishing a coronavirus vaccination clinic at the Pirelli Stadium, while its chairman Ben Robinson took home the prize for contribution to league football.

    AFC Wimbledon, a third-tier club, was voted community club of the year. The Dons’ Local Action Group was established in reaction to the Covid-19 outbreak, and it now provides food banks and other services to those in need in the local community.

    Ryan Inniss of Charlton received the PFA Community Player of the Year award. The defender has made a major contribution to his club’s PL Kicks workouts. Billy Mitchell of Millwall and Omar Beckles of Leyton Orient were the other nominees for the award.

    Read: IPL 2022: Shikhar Dhawan becomes the second player to score 6000+ runs in the league

    Get in Touch


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    Latest Posts