Rohit Sharma creates a record by beating Virat Kohli and Martin Guptill to become the leading run scorer in T20I history

    Indian skipper Rohit Sharma finally broke the record of Martin Guptill to become the leading run-getter in T20Is. He broke this record in the first T20 against Sri Lanka on Thursday.

    Rohit Sharma needed 39 runs to break Guptill’s record. He smashed every loose ball against Sri Lanka and along with Ishan Kishan they had a 100-run stand. He mustered 44 runs in just 32 balls for India.

     Rohit Sharma has scored a total of 3,307 runs at an average of 33.07 in 123 matches. He has four centuries, and 26 half-centuries in the T20I format.

    Virat Kohli had the perfect opportunity in the West Indies series to break the record but he missed out by just four runs. He will definitely have the opportunity against the South Africa home series post-IPL 2022.

    If Virat breaks Rohit’s record, he will be the fastest batter on the planet to be on the Top 10 highest-scorers having a 50+ average.

    His biggest rival is Pakistan’s skipper Babar Azam who has an average of 45.17 in 73 matches.

    Top 10 Leading run scorers in T20Is

    1Rohit SharmaIndia2007-2022123*330711833.07139.94426
    2Martin GuptillNZ2009-2021112329910532.66136.71220
    3Virat KohliIndia2010-202297329694*51.50137.67030
    4Paul StirlingIreland2009-20221022776115*29.84134.69120
    5Aaron FinchAustralia2011-202288268617234.43145.42215
    6Babar AzamPakistan2016-202173262012245.17129.12125
    7David WarnerAustralia2009-2021882554100*32.74140.48121
    8Mohammad HafeezPakistan2006-2021119251499*26.46122.03014
    9Eoin MorganEngland2009-202211524589128.58136.17014
    10Shoaib MalikPakistan2006-202112424357531.21125.6409

    Read more: Exclusive: It’s not Shikhar Dhawan, it is Mayank Agarwal to lead PBKS in IPL 2022

    Get in Touch


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    Latest Posts