La Liga: Vivo is all set to sponsor Spanish Football League after making an exit from the Indian Premiere League (IPL)

Spain’s football league LaLiga has signed up the Chinese brand Vivo to sponsor the tournament. The deal will cover Spain and Portugal and has signed the contract till 2024-25 season. Earlier, the brand was the title sponsor of IPL since 2018 and 2022 was meant to be their ending season. However, things took a different turn as Tata Group had acquired the rights in January.

How is Vivo benefiting from LaLiga’s deal?

Vivo signed a contract with IPL for 440 Cr per annum. The brand had to make its exit as soon as the TATA Group made a contract with the Indian Premier League for a lesser amount.

Tata Group sealed the deal with 335 Crores to BCCI and VIVO had to pay the amount difference to BCCI as its exit and the exit penalties without completing the tenure.

IPL Title Sponsorship Logic

  • VIVO Deal: 440 Crore Per Season
  • TATA Motors offer 335 Crore Per Season
  • Deficit Per Season: 105 Crores
  • Total Deficit for 2 Seasons 210 Crores

The Spanish Football tournament hasn’t got a smartphone sponsor in Spain LGs end of the deal in 2020. This is the first sponsorship deal for Vivo in Spain. Diego Spain the president of Vivo in Spain and Portugal described Spain as one of the hot markets for Vivo.

LaLiga has been without a sponsor in the smartphone category in Spain since the end of a deal with LG which began in October 2020.

Xiao said “When we started in Spain just over a year ago, a gentleman from Sevilla told me that in Spain you can change your wife, husband, political party, but never your football team. This agreement means so much to us because it’s not just an alliance with LaLiga or football, it’s an alliance with Spain and its values. The more we experience those, the closer we are to the country.”

The company has had deals with popular International tournaments FIFA and UEFA covering the 2022 men’s World Cup and the men’s Euro 2024, respectively.

VIVO was also a sponsor of the 2018 FIFA World Cup and Euro 2020 tournaments.

Read more: ICC Awards: New Zealand All-rounder Daryl Mitchell wins the ICC Spirit of Cricket Award 2021

Get in Touch


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest Posts