Perth Scorchers were named champions after defeating the Sydney Sixers by 79 runs to win the Big Bash League

    The Perth Scorchers won the final thanks to brilliant bowling showing from Andrew Tye and Jhye Richardson. Richardson took a couple of wickets while Tye took three.

    About BBL Final

    In a humiliating defeat that included Sydney Sixers coach Jay Lenton amid the COVID issue, all batters except Daniel Hughes battled on the turf. In the battle, the Sydney Sixers lost by more runs than they scored.

    Laurie Evans was the star of the show, hitting an undefeated 76 off 41 balls to help the Perth Scorchers upset the Sydney Sixers in Australia’s Big Bash final on Friday in Melbourne. Perth reached 171 for six from their 20 overs, with Sydney being dismissed for 92 in 16.2 overs for a 79-run victory.

    WhatsApp Image 2022 01 28 at 6.03.02 PM
    credits –

    The Scorchers were seeking vengeance after losing to their arch-rivals in the final previous season. “What can I say, the guys deserve this,” said man-of-the-match Evans.

    “They’ve sacrificed a lot, not being able to get home and stuff like that. I’m just really proud we got over the line today.”

    The game was played in Melbourne’s Marvel Stadium with the roof closed due to excessive rain, capping off another tournament blighted by the epidemic. The Scorchers chose the venue as their “home” stadium because they are unable to return to Western Australia owing to Covid worries, with the state border still closed to the rest of the country.

    “Congratulations to Perth, the best team all year and probably fitting you won tonight,” said Sixers skipper Moises Henriques.

    Match Highlights

    After winning the toss and electing to bowl, Henriques appeared to have made the right option as the Scorchers were reduced to 25 for 4 after six overs. However, a 104-run combination between captain Ashton Turner (54) and Evans turned the contest in their favour.

    200120 result article
    credits –

    In his spectacular performance, Evans smashed four boundaries and four sixes, while Nathan Lyon and Steve O’Keefe each took two wickets. Perth has dominated defending low totals this season, and the signs weren’t good for Sydney when Hayden Kerr was dismissed cheaply in the second over.

    Nicholas Bertus (15) and Jay Lenton (10) were the only two players to reach double digits, with Daniel Hughes hitting a quickfire 42 before being run out to give them a glimmer of hope.

    With 3-15 off three overs, Andrew Tye wreaked havoc. After dismissing Sean Abbott and Ben Dwarshuis, he was on his way to a hat-trick, only for Lyon to fend off his third ball. The Scorchers and the Sixers, both three-time champions, are the only two clubs in Australia’s T20 tournament to have won multiple titles.

    Read: NFL’s Ben Roethlisberger has announced his retirement

    Get in Touch


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    Latest Posts