FIFA set to punish Premier League clubs for not releasing players during International Break

Some of the Premier League clubs have not released players during International Break. According to ESPN, FIFA has set the punishment for the Premier League clubs who didn’t send their players to play the World Cup qualifiers for their national team.

The Premier League clubs are Liverpool, Manchester City, Chelsea and Manchester United who didn’t allow their Brazilian players to meet up in Brazil national team and play the World Cup qualifiers for their national team. The punishment is to ban the players for the next round of league matches.

Read: UEFA president Aleksander Ceferin is against the proposal of FIFA to hold the World Cup every two years

Tottenham Hotspur and Aston Villa allowed their players to travel to their national countries leading to the suspension of Brazil’s match against Argentina after Emi Martinez, Emi Buendia, Giovani Lo Celso and Cristian Romero didn’t complete mandatory quarantine in Brazil.

The players who are set to be punished by FIFA are Alisson Becker, Ederson, Fabinho, Thiago Silva, Roberto Firmino, Richarlison and Gabriel Jesus. They will miss their clubs’ next Premier League match.

Get in Touch


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest Posts