ICC Hall of Fame 2021: Everything you need to know about the 10 new Inductees

    The International Cricket Council announced the name of the 10 legendary cricketers on Sunday, who are inducted into the 2021 ICC Hall of Fame. Sri Lankan legend, Kumar Sangakkara is there on the list, and the former Indian cricketer, Vinoo Mankad is there too. Zimbabwe’s legendary batsman, Andy Flower, and the former Barbadian cricketer Desmond Haynes have been there as well.  Check the full list below.

    ICC Hall of Fame 2021 Inductees

    The first-ever ICC WTC final (World Test Championship), will be accompanied by the special edition of the ICC Hall of Fame. Ten legends, as mentioned above, bearing an immense contribution to the history of Test cricket, will get enlisted in the list to unite with those 93 players, who are already in the index of ICC Hall of Famers.

    Kumar Sangakkara

    He is one of the greatest batsmen of all time, holding the rank among the top 3 batsmen by ICC across all formats of the game.

    27Kumar 2 1
    Kumar Sangakkara

    Vinno Mankad

    Vinoo Mankad also belongs among the greatest Indian batsmen, who once set a world record in opening partnership with Pankaj Roy, which was 413, in the year 1956. The record was unbroken for 52 years. The cricketing term “Mankading” is named after him. It is when a bowler runs out a non-striker end batsman when he is out of the crease.

    jpg 1
    Vinoo Mankad

    Andy Flower

    Andy Flower is the former captain of the Zimbabwean Cricket team and one of the greatest cricket legends of all time. He was the wicket-keeper of Zimbabwe for over 10 years, and statistically he is considered as the greatest batsman, that the country has produced.

    Andy Flower 1 1
    Andy Flower

    Desmond Haynes

    Desmond Haynes played for West Indies from 1978 to 1994. He has scored 7487 runs in Test cricket in only 116 matches at an average of 42.29. His highest score came against England, in the year 1980, which was 180.

    EuR3rkiWYAgxEZJ 1 1
    Desmond Haynes

    Monty Noble

    Monty Noble, was an Australian cricketer. He is one of the greatest Australian all-rounders, who was a right-handed batsman, and a right-handed bowler. He was an expert in delivering both medium pace as well as off-break.

    Monty Noble c1905 1
    Monty Noble

    Ted Dexter

    Ted Dexter was an aggressive as well as an explosive middle-order batsman, and also a right-arm medium bowler. He was famous by his nickname – Lord Ted.

    GettyImages 120205699 e1557846914818 2 2
    Ted Dexter

    Stan McCabe

    Stan McCabe was an Australian cricketer, who played 39 test matches in 8 year cricket career for his country. His captain, Don Bradman, stated him as one of the great batsmen of the game.

    Mccabe 2 1 1 1
    Stan McCabe

    Aubrey Faulkner

    Aubrey Faulkner was an South African cricketer who played 25 test internationals for his team. He was among the best batsmen in the world on his peak time, and one of the first leg spin bowlers to deliver a googly.

    Colin Blythe 1 1 1
    Aubrey faulkner

    Learie Constantine

    Learie Constantine was an West Indian cricketer. He played 18 test matches before the second World War, and was the first to take a wicket for West Indies in Test cricket.

    2805 1 1
    Learie Constantine

    Bob Willis

    bob Willis was an legendary English cricketer, who played 90 test matches for his team. He took 325 test wickets, at 25.20 runs per wicket.

    skynews bob willis england cricket 4856477 1
    Bob Willis

    ICC Chief Executive Geoff Allardic’s Saying

    Geoff Allardice, the chief executive of ICC, said that it was an honor for them to announce a one-time induction of ten legends of cricket into the ICC Hall of Fame, which is going to coincide with the first WTC final in Southampton.

    He also added that we all are celebrating the history of the game, and no other better way can be there to honor those legends who have presented their magnificent performances in different eras. There are greats, and will always inspire the upcoming generation and beyond.

    Also Read: Shikhar Dhawan to lead India, in their tour of Sri Lanka

    Get in Touch


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    Latest Posts