Shikhar Dhawan to lead India, in their tour of Sri Lanka

Shikhar Dhawan is going to lead the Indian team in their series against Sri Lanka, to be played in July. The tour will consist of three T20s and 3 ODIs, and all the matches are going to take place at the R Premadasa International Cricket Stadium, at Colombo.

Shikhar Dhawan going to captain the young New Generation!

BCCI declared on Thursday that Dhawan will be the captain of India, in their tour to Sri Lanka for playing limited-overs matches. The administration also announced the 20 man squad, where the majority of the players are young stars, and 6 among them being uncapped.

05shikhar 1 1
Shikhar Dhawan

The senior cricketers are already practising for the World Test Championship final, to be held in England, in between India and New Zealand. Also, they are making for the subsequent England series to be played in September. For the experienced players being engaged, some names among the young players on the Sri Lanka series squad are not unexpected.

Six uncapped players gearing themselves up!

These six uncapped players have performed well in the recent IPLs, also in this year’s tournament, which was suspended. For their wonderful efficiency, and consistency, they got their maiden call-up for the Indian team. They are – Nitish Rana, Devdutt Padikkal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Chetan Sakaria, and Varun Chakravarthy.

Manish Pandey and Prithvi Shaw came back to the team, after being dropped out at the India versus England series. Shreyas Iyer is yet to come back to the team, after recovering from his shoulder injury.

Extra Strength

The dangerous Pandya brothers are on the team, giving extra strength as well as experience to the juniors, along with the terrific spin duo of Kuldeep and Chahal. Sanju Samson and Ishan Kishan are the two wicket-keeper batsmen on the team. It will be 13 days of the tour for India, in Sri Lanka, starting from 13th July to 25th July.

36161378 1899877336977819 6409538467876831232 n 1 1
Pandya Brothers

Indian Squad for the Sri Lankan tour

Shikhar Dhawan (Captain), Devdutt Padikkal, Prithvi Shaw, Suryakumar Yadav, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Manish Pandey, Nitish Rana, Sanju Samson (wicket-keeper), Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Bhuvneshwar Kumar (Vice-captain), Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzendra Chahal, Varun Chakravarthy, Rahul Chahar, Deepak Chahar, K Gowtham, Navdeep Saini, and Chetan Sakariya.

Net Bowlers – Sandeep Warrier, Ishan Porel, Sai Kishore, Arshdeep Singh, and Simarjeet Singh.

Also Read: Special inductions to ICC Hall of Fame announced which will coincide with the World Test Championship Final

Get in Touch


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest Posts