ICC Hall of Fame: Special inductions to ICC Hall of Fame announced which will coincide with the World Test Championship Final

International Cricket Council (ICC) announced today a special edition of the ICC Hall of Fame, which will coincide with the first-ever World Test Championship. The ten legends will be inducted to the list of Hall of Fame who have contributed to the test cricket. These ten legends will join the list of Hall of Fame to join with the 93 players who are already on the list of Hall of Fame.

Special Edition of ICC Hall of Fame will be streamed on ICC digital channels and also on Facebook and Youtube, featuring interviews of inductees from a special panel of guests Lisa Sthalekar and Lawrence Booth. The ten selected inductees names will be shown in the ICC digital channels show.

2 players from the each of the five following era’s will join the list of world’s greatest player in the ICC Hall Of Fame.

Early Cricket Era from pre-1918
Inter-War Cricket Era from 1918 – 1945
Post-War Cricket Era from 1946 – 1970
ODI Era from 1971 – 1995
Modern Cricket Era from 1996 – 2016

“It is an honour for us to announce a one-time induction of ten cricketing greats into the ICC Hall of Fame to coincide with the first-ever final of the World Test Championship in Southampton,” said ICC acting chief executive Geoff Allardice.

“We are celebrating the history of the game and what better way than to honour some of the greats that founded and played the game across different eras. These are all players with a legacy that will continue to inspire future generations for years to come,” ICC acting chief executive Geoff Allardice also said.

10 icons are the main part of the special edition of the Hall of Fame who have been voted by the Voting Academy of ICC Hall of Fame, comprising of living Hall of Fame members, a FICA representative, prominent cricket journalists and senior ICC figures.

The ICC’s independent statistician will compile a list of ex-players or other significant cricketing figures for every five eras (this thing will be based on the time of their best impact on the cricket), and it will be presented by the Hall of Fame Nominations Committee, together with relevant statistics and brief commentary.

Results will produce a score against which the top two individuals in each era will be inducted into the ICC Hall of Fame list. In the event of a tie, the players with the most votes by the Voting Academy of ICC Hall of Fame will prioritise.


Get in Touch


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest Posts