India’s Tour Of England: Indrani Roy gets a maiden call-up; Shafali and Shikha named in all three squads as BCCI announce T20I, ODI and Test Squad

The news has come out that Mithali Raj will lead the team for England Tour for the one-off test and three ODIs. It is also revealed that Harmanpreet Kaur will further take over the captainship during the three T20Is.

Wicket keeper-batsman Indrani Roy from Jharkhand has been honoured with maiden Test, and ODI calls up for India’s tour of England. While senior left-arm spinner Rajeshwari Gayakwand loses the opportunity as she is recovering from Covid-19. Gayakwand is also recovering from an injury.

cric1 1

The Neetu David conduct a selection panel and made a change with teen sensation Shafali Verma and second pacer Shikha Pandey making it to all three squads after their South African home series humiliation.

“This time Neetu and her colleagues didn’t go for any outrageous experiments. Shafali and Shikha were two of the earliest names listed in all three squads. There was one Swetha Verma of UP whose name was discussed but it was found that she hasn’t even scored 200 runs in a season,” a source close to developments told PTI on conditions of anonymity.

cric4 1

Sneh Rana and Indrani were two superb and excellent performers in the National One Day competition and for their previous performances they were called up. Indrani was honoured for her twin scores of 103 against Chattisgarh, 86 against Karnataka, and 49 against the railway’s final match. While Rana is a ‘player of final’ because of her all-round capabilities which she showcased in her railway matches.

There are some controversies which were heard last time was like Monica Patel, C Prathyusha have been dropped out of the team but this time controversy has turned into truth. The team selection meeting was strictly followed by BCCI President Saurav Ganguly and secretary Jay Shah.

Test & ODI Squad: Mithali Raj (captain), Smriti Mandhana, Harmanpreet Kaur (vice-captain), Punam Raut, Priya Punia, Deepti Sharma, Jemimah Rodrigues, Shafali Verma, Sneh Rana, Taniya Bhatia (wicket-keeper), Indrani Roy (wicket-keeper), Jhulan Goswami, Shikha Pandey, Pooja Vastrakar, Arundhati Reddy, Poonam Yadav, Ekta Bisht, Radha Yadav.

cric6 1 1

T20I Squad: Harmanpreet Kaur (captain) Smriti Mandhana (vice-captain), Deepti Sharma, Jemimah Rodrigues, Shafali Verma, Richa Ghosh, Harleen Deol, Sneh Rana, Taniya Bhatia (wicket-keeper), Indrani Roy (wicket-keeper), Shikha Pandey, Pooja Vastrakar, Arundhati Reddy, Poonam Yadav, Ekta Bisht, Radha Yadav, Simran Dil Bahadur.

Get in Touch


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest Posts